RC08 – Legislative Specialists (RCLS) business meeting, held on 27 July, 2016, from 19:30 – 20:30 (Poland, venue Poznań Congress Center, Pavilion 15 (PCC-15/ 1.5).

Business Meeting Minutes

RC 08 Members Present: Zdenka Mansfeldová, Rick Stapenhurst, Julia Swanholz, Ellie Valentine, Werner Patzelt, Peter Tunkis, Julia Fontaine, Kevin Kerbill, Michael Edinger, Hilmar Rommetvedt, Daniela Prokschova, Elena Semenova, Petra Guasti, Hamazasp Danielyan.

Agenda

- 1. Intro
- 2. Summary of the RC08 report 2010-2016
- 3. Website
- 4. Membership
- 5. Board Elections
- 6. Misc.

1. Intro

Co-chairs Zdenka Mansfeldová and Frederick Stapenhurst welcome all participants & thank the Program Chair Hilmar Rommetvedt for the excellent preparation of the RC08 panels for the IPSA Congress;

2. Report Summary of RC08 Activities 2010-2016

- North America (Irina Khmelko RC 08 Director of Research), organized workshop in 2015, round table with practitioners in Washington D.C, and two meetings in 2016 scholars and practitioners, and panel in New Orleans and Chicago;
- Europe cooperation with (a) the ECPR parliamentary opposition 2 panels at the ECPR in Prague and a book project; (b) Thomas Saalfeld and the ECPR a standing group on parliaments, Munich Conference, and would adjust to organize meetings not to collide with the IPSA, (c) EU ENGAGE, (d) German-Australian project on Elites in Federal countries (Berlin 2017 practitioners conference, Canberra conference);
- IPSA 2016 World Congress: Number of panel/individual paper proposals -14 panels were accepted at the outset, but with the change of location some panels were dropped or fused. As a consequence, not all panels were as focused as one would have wanted them to be. 9 panels took place, of which 3 panels were joint endeavours with others RCs. IPSA allows 4-6 papers per panel. 4 papers is ideal and 5 papers per panel should be maximum. However, because of the likelihood of drop outs, it is difficult to know how many papers we end up with.
- The full version of the Report will be available on the RC08 website soon.

3. Website

Please forward calls, publications etc. to be published on the RC08 website to Zdenka Mansfeldova (zdenka.mansfeldova@soc.cas.cz);

Erik Fritsche, the current webmaster, will be leaving the University – RC Co-Chairs, and members express big thank you for his work;

For the future - Werner Patzelt will try to recruit a research assistant to act as webmaster (honorary role), but with no guarantee;

Peter Tunkis (Ohio University) volunteers to act as a webmaster, in case TU Dresden plan will not work out (Plan B).

4. Membership

Issue: RC08 does not know exactly, who are the members of RC. At the business meeting in Madrid 2012 we decided to stop collecting membership fee due to high fee for bank transfer. This decision combined with lack of communication from the IPSA secretariat on RC membership led to a problem of identifying RCLS members: now there are about 350 email addresses on the RC08 list, but limited number of participants in RC08 events;

Solutions:

- Rick Stapenhurst will try to compel IPSA into providing their mailing list or better to say, information, who from the IPSA members indicated interest to join RC08;
- In a long run, reintroduction of the symbolic membership fee would allow for more clarity as well as to allow RC08 to co-fund activities (using PayPal should be easier);
- Collection of fees would require an appointment of a new treasurer and opening of a bank account (in order to recover money from previous treasurer, received IPSA RC funding and handle membership fees);

Decisions:

- Reintroduction of the fee from 1.1.2017 (25 USD per two years, if not paid three times, than membership is discontinued- details will be elaborated by the Board) - PROPOSAL UNANIMOUSLY ACCEPTED;
- Establishment of an RC08 David M. Olson Award for best IPSA Wold Congress paper by
 a junior scholar PROPOSAL UNANIMOUSLY ACCEPTED. Zdenka Mansfeldova
 discussed this proposal with David Olson and he agreed. The board will clarify the
 details of nominations and the procedure selection of the best paper prior to the IPSA
 World Congress in Brisbane.

5. Board Elections

IPSA Research Committee Guide for RC Chairs, last version from May 2016, Article 8:

"The affairs of each research committee shall be directed by an elected board consisting of no fewer than seven and no more than twelve members. The board shall be elected for four years, with the possibility of re-election for an additional two-year period. Board elections shall include at least two new members at each election. No officer of a research committee may remain as an officer in the same substantive capacity for more than six years, and more than an extra four years in a second position. If possible, board members should represent different countries and approaches in their fields of interest."

The changes were accepted with the result:

Change to a chair/vice-chair system, minimum of 7 and maximum 12 members in the Board, 4 years and one re-election for an additional two-year period, officers for 6 years maximum, and maximum 4 years in another position.

Current RC08 officers:

Rick Stapenhurst elected for 4 years (until 2018)

Hilmar Rommetvedt elected for 4 years as program chair (until 2018) Zdenka Mansfeldova elected for 2 years (until 2016)

Nomination:

To prepare for the elections of Board, and to enable those members who will not be able to join us in Poznaň, the current Board decided to compile a list of candidates via on-line communication as well as to receive nominations during the Congress, up to the beginning of the business meeting. Nominated candidates must be members of RCLS and, of course, should be informed and concur with their nomination.

Despite repeated calls only a few nominations came, and not all were discussed with the candidate.

There were 10 candidates who accepted their nominations up for election. No nomination did not come to the site before the business meeting.

Discussion on the new rules and their implication with results:

- change from 2 Co-chairs to Chair and Vice-chair;
- Chair will be elected for four years;
- Election of treasurer;
- call for more regional diversity new members form Asia, Africa and Latin America will be actively sought;

Elections:

Dr. Zdenka Mansfeldová elected RC08 Chair unanimously; Dr. Frederick Stapenhurst elected RC08 Vice-chair and Treasurer unanimously; Prof. Hilmar Rommetvedt elected RC08 Program Chair unanimously;

7 board members elected unanimously. They are:

- Prof. Dr. Omer Faruk Genckaya, Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey
- Assoc. Prof. Ken Coghill, Department of Management, Monash Business School, Monash University, Australia
- Prof. Werner Patzelt, University of Technology, Dresden, Germany
- Dr. Michael Edinger, University of Jena, Germany
- Prof. Irmina Matonyte, ISM University of Management and Economics, Vilnius, Lithuania
- Dr. Irina Khmelko, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, USA
- Dr. Petra Guasti, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany and Institute of Sociology at the Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic

RC08 plans to have a 12-member Board; after this election, there are 10 members in the Board. The remaining two members should be elected at the next business meeting in 2018. The effort is to attract members of the Board from still underrepresented regions.

5. Misc

Proposal by Board member Michael Edinger to issue twice-yearly RC08 newsletter. The idea was accepted and the implementation will be discussed further by members of the Board.

Joint dinner

Minutes taken by Petra Guasti